Coat up-cycle 

As I have recently been stuck in a cycle of developing experimental work with textures and colours, I was advised in my last tutorial to just make something. I feel that I have a bad habit of having the ideas but not portraying them in the way I would like. I have been making small experimental pieces quite often and although these pieces are helping me understand colour relations and fabric contrasts I do feel I need to just make something completely out of my comfort zone. In the tutorial we discussed maybe making something into an outfit that someone could wear and walk around the studio, Although this was humorous, I do feel I needed to just make something and see how it turns put.  I ended up making a complementary colour patchwork jacket, this contains contrasting textures with the brown chord and pink fablon. Although I will most likely not be developing this piece further as I felt rather restricted to following the already existing form of the jacket.  I do really like elements of it, it gave me freedom and a chance to play around with textures on a larger scale.

The design is exaggerated and comical, I feel this would look effective clashing against a painting that has a similar design. This could end up being rather uncomfortable to look at. I will definitely be sticking to the use of patchwork as I feel it is a good way of connecting fabrics and colours in a way that causes visual illusions.

Published by

CourtneyFlay

BA Fine Art student at Cardiff Metropolitan University School of Art and Design.

Leave a comment