Yayoi Kusama

Yayoi Kusama has been creating work for almost 70 years. Her practice shares affiliations with Surrealism, Minimalism, Pop Art and Abstraction. Kusama studied painting in Kyoto before moving to New York in the 1950s, by 1960 she had become known for her provocative personality and her exhibitions. Kusama’s unique work includes painting, drawing, collage, sculpture, performance, film, printmaking, installation and environmental art. Also for her literature and involvement in the fashion industry since collaborating with Louis Vuitton on a project.
Her works reflect her lifelong preoccupation with the infinite and sublime, as well as the twin themes of cosmic infinity and personal obsession, as found in pattern and repetition.
I am interested in the clashing on patterns Kusama creates with repetitive form such as a circle. I have noticed myself that you can keep drawing and painting a form (rock like shapes) until it becomes almost auto-piloted. I feel like I am drawing circles and rock forms without thinking about it. I feel this reflects Kusama’s obsessive behaviour that is reflected in her monotonous use of forms. Although her work is very effective on a viewer, I find her work almost difficult to concentrate on as I don’t know where to look. I also feel the psychedelic colours and patterns create this effect on a person.
I am intrigued in the installation spaces she makes and would be interested in making an intrusive space of my own for the degree show, where you have to really experience your environment.

Published by

CourtneyFlay

BA Fine Art student at Cardiff Metropolitan University School of Art and Design.

Leave a comment