Ludovica Gioscia

Ludovica Gioscia (born 1977, Rome) lives and works in London. She graduated with an MA Fine Art Media from the Slade School of Art in 2004 and previously with a BA(hons) Fine Art Media from Chelsea College of Art & Design in 2000. (http://www.vitrinegallery.com/artist/ludovica-gioscia/)

Gioscia’s work revolves around her compulsive hoarding personality, she organizes her work into archives that then develop into installations and sculptures. The reason behind her collection of accumulated material comes from her obsession with retail, social anthropology and science fiction. All these things fuse together to reflect our relationship with consumption.

Gioscia’s work initially sparked an interest due to her use of colour and scale. I am also obsessed with her use of clashing pattern additional to the colours. I am intrigued to what layer is the surface pattern and what is the foreground. I enjoy her use of wallpaper combined with prints to create a thought-out, yet messy aesthetic. As well as her installation wall pieces, I also feel that her box sculptures are an interesting development of colour, pattern and scale. I feel these pieces combined would be an effective clashing installation piece.

I am interested in the way Gioscia displays her pieces and I will be taking her work as an inspiration for my own,as I am keen on working with size to make the effect of my colours and patterns impact a viewer. I feel that a combination of psychedelic colours and pattern on a large scale could be very intrusive for a viewer.
Image result for ludovica giosciaImage result for ludovica gioscia

Published by

CourtneyFlay

BA Fine Art student at Cardiff Metropolitan University School of Art and Design.

Leave a comment