Psychedelic Art-Bruce Riley

After being told that my work is confusing people’s vision due to the contrasts in colour playing tricks on the eye. I decided to look at artists who create work based on the psychedelic and how colour and colour only can create such saturated illusionary forms. 

I came across a video of Bruce Riley at work. Riley fills canvases with organic shapes formed by dripping paint onto poured resin. The results are intriguing. Riley talks about how the work forms itself, how he selects colours that he feels will go well together. Sometimes they work sometimes they don’t. The process is never planned, just an assumption of what colours create the best outcomes.  

I feel that this has been the case with my current patchwork piece. Some areas cause my eyes to flicker between the colours and other areas of the piece do nothing at all. It’s just trial and error and comparing what fabric or colours work best. Something that has definitely helped me is asking other students what parts they feel more impacting. This gives me an idea of what people react to most. 

Bruce Riley on psychedelic art and colour.

https://youtu.be/v3RcRwCP0RU

Published by

CourtneyFlay

BA Fine Art student at Cardiff Metropolitan University School of Art and Design.

Leave a comment