Megan Geckler 

Geckler is a Site Specific installation artist who uses flagging tape (plastic ribbon) to make large scale installation spaces. She uses the architecture around her to form the shape of her installations.

When I first saw Geckler’s work I was instantly attracted to the neon colours that create optical illusions especially when they are weaved together you would think they were a solid thing and not a combination of layered tapes. I like how the tape almost forms it’s shape itself when wrapped around a structure. Geckler uses spaces that portray intense lighting so that the colours of the tape are as luminous as possible. Something I will need to consider when planning my exhibition space is the level of lighting as ideally I would like a space where I am able to get natural lighting through a window, but also near artificial lighting. Also the option to add spot lights for extra brightness so that the colours I use are intensified.

Published by

CourtneyFlay

BA Fine Art student at Cardiff Metropolitan University School of Art and Design.

Leave a comment