Using Mirrors

Using mirrors in my work has been something I have been contemplating since I started planning my installation. As I felt that it would be a good way to cause more illusions and a way to create a extra dimensions to the patchwork. But after trialling with paper mirrors I am finding it difficult to attach them to the fabric without them falling off or becoming crinkled when the surface. Using fabric glue has been the best way to attach them but after seeing  the mirrors on the boxes next to the patchwork surrounding I feel that the boxes don’t actually need it due to the reflective flooring and fablon patches that are also reflective. Although I have kept 3 mirrors scattered on a few of the boxes as I felt these were areas that needed extra reflection and it was also a way to reflect light onto my piece.

Published by

CourtneyFlay

BA Fine Art student at Cardiff Metropolitan University School of Art and Design.

Leave a comment